A-Z Databases
Find the best library databases for your research.
The most frequently-used databases
(EBSCO) Great place to start your research! Multi-disciplinary database; full text of articles from over 5,300 journals, magazines and newspapers, plus image collections.
(Alexander Street Press) Limited historical news reports, documentaries, instructional materials, and full-length videos on various topics.
(EBSCO) Selected full-text from 30 US national and international newspapers and 200 regional papers, plus TV & radio news transcripts.
The following databases are being evaluated for a future subscription.
Discover over 3 million high-quality images from prestigious museums, libraries, scholars, artists, and archives around the globe. This resource includes rare materials you won’t find anywhere else and offers a diverse array of content, such as sculptures, paintings, journalistic photographs, architecture, and much more, all cleared for educational and research purposes. This link provides direct access to Artstor images. For full access to images within JSTOR, be sure to use the “Images” tab, near the JSTOR logo.
(ProQuest) Search 200+ digitized Texas newspapers from the 1800s to the 2000s. Use it to find local news, obituaries, ads, sports, comics, and more from papers like the Houston Post, Austin American-Statesman, Galveston Daily News, and San Antonio Express.
This is a searchable archive of real historical newspapers from across the state. Great for history, English, journalism, and social science classes, as well as anyone curious about Texas communities and culture.
Note: This version contains Texas newspapers only.
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It includes present-day meanings and the history of individual words, and of the language.
